jennyThe Committee of Heads of Environmental Sciences (CHES) is the collective voice of the environmental sciences and related disciplines in higher and further education. Founded in 1991, CHES plays a leading role in the Higher and Further Education environmental science communities, representing member interests and lobbying on their behalf. In 2012 CHES merged with the Institution of Environmental Sciences (IES) and acts as the education committee of the IES.

CHES is an active networking organisation and enhances the quality of outcomes for all colleagues and institutions throughout environmental education. We aim to facilitate cooperation and collaboration between relevant bodies within the UK and internationally.

Key activities urban

  • The representative organisation for institutions delivering education in environmental science and its related fields
  • Ensuring positive outcomes for all environmental science providers, and highlighting opportunities for advancement
  • Providing the leading accreditation scheme for environmental science higher education degree programmes
  • Facilitating connections between member institutions and developing new avenues of international co-operation within the environmental science community
  • Coordinating between member institutions and linking with relevant professional bodies

There are 40 university and further education departments making up the membership of CHES. Our accreditation scheme covers 101 individual degree programmes across 37 of our member institutions. New members are welcome, and are not restricted to the Higher Education, nor environmental sciences. Please refer to our membership pages for details.

CHES Executive Committee

The business of CHES is managed by an Executive Committee. New members are elected each year at the AGM and Executive positions are normally held for three years.

Name University/Organisation Position on CHES Portfolio
Mr Adam Donnan Institution of Environmental Sciences Honorary Treasurer  
Dr Michelle Hale University of Portsmouth   Publications & research
Dr Liz Price Manchester Metropolitan University Vice Chair Teaching excellence
Prof. Diane Purchase Middlesex University Honorary Secretary Research Excellence
Dr Zoe Robinson
Keele University   Student recruitment
Dr Jackie Rogers
University of West England Chair Membership services
Dr Peter Shaw University of Southampton   Employability
Dr Alison Stokes University of Plymouth   Diversity & inclusion
Prof. Phil Wheater Manchester Metropolitan University   Accreditation standards
Dr Phil Wheeler The Open University   Student membership & engagement
Dr Clare Wilson University of Stirling    

Download the CHES terms of reference